THE COUNTRY

The United States of America (USA) is a federal constitutional republic made up of 50 states (48 continental states plus Alaska and Hawaii, the two newest states) and one federal district - Washington DC the capital district. The country is situated in the central southern part of North America almost entirely in the western hemisphere. The USA is washed by the Atlantic Ocean in the east and by the Pacific Ocean in the west. The mainland United States borders. Canada to the North and Mexico to the south, the state of Alaska in the northwest of the continent, and the state of Hawaii is in the mid-pacific, the largest state is Alaska, and the smallest is Rhode-island. Apart from the political states of the USA, the country also has territories outside which are "insular areas" some of these are US Virgin islands, American Samoa and Northern Mariana islands, the commonwealth of Puerto Rico, in the Caribbean.

According to US census bureau, the major cities are:

New York, Los Angelos, Chicago, Houston, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Antonio, San Jose, San Diego, Dallas, Detroit and the capital Washington.

The American flag consists of 13 equal horizontal stripes (seven red and six white stripes). There is one stripe for each of the first thirteen colonies of the United States. As there are fifty states in the US there are fifty stars on the American flag, one for each.

Since the USA is the third largest country in the world, it has a varied topography. The eastern regions consist of hills and low

mountains while the central interior is a vast plain (called the Great Plains region) and the west has high rugged mountain ranges (some of which are volcanic). Alaska also features rugged mountains as well as river valleys. Hawaii landscape varies but is dominated by volcanic topography. Like its topography, the climate of the US also varies depending on location; it is considered mostly temperate but is tropical in Hawaii and Florida, arctic in Alaska, semi-arid in the plains west of Mississippi river and arid in the Great basin of the southwest.